Maa Hai Mohabbat Ka Naam

My Dear Fellow Muslims,

As-Salaam Alay-Kum

Ralph Waldo Emerson once raised a question and answered it as follows:

You ask me, what is civilization?
I reply: It is the power of good women.

Today being “A Mother’s Day, I would like to rekindle the memory of my beloved mother, Fatima Lodhia, daughter of Abdul Habeeb Yusuf Marfani – The Noble Servant Of India (Sewak-e-Hind). In order to express my sentiments, I, Mohammed Rafiq Lodhia, would like to draw the kind attention of my fellow Muslims towards the contribution of great Indian Muslim poets and musicians whose mothers were “Humble Muslims.

Mother1

“Mera Salaam Le Ja, was one of my mother’s favorite songs. She sang it every once in a while in order for one daughter and four sons to understand the meaning of life.

Niche Jamin Hain, Duniya Hasin Hain

Unchi Udaan Hai, Palako Pe Jaan Hai

Hoy, Mera Salaam Le Ja
Dil Ka Payaam Le La
Urdan Khatole Waale Rahi

Lyrics: Shakeel Badayuni
Music Director: Naushad Ali
Singer: Lata Mangeshkar

Capture3

My mentor, Muhammad Ali Rangoonwala, taught me that the only way to appreciate one’s mother can be summed up in a single powerful sentence: “To Whom I Owe Everything.More importantly, let us always remember what our beloved Prophet Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) taught us. “Heaven lies beneath a mother’s feet.”

Mother2

Fortunately, I have been largely blessed by Almighty Allah for being a son of Fatima Lodhia. My heart can only express my sentiments which lies in the beautiful lyrics of Kaifi Azmi and which was magnificently sung by none other than my idol, Mohammed Rafi. (May Almighty Allah rest these two gentle souls in peace). MAA HAI MOHABBAT KA NAAM. MAA KO HAZARO SALAAM.

Haske Uthaye Gum
Baithe Na Har Ke Ho
Bale Jamane Ko Wo
Apne Ko Mar Ke Ho
Bhukh Mitaye Sada
Pyas Bujhaye Sada
Pyar Lutaye Sada
Mange Na Kimat Na Daam

Maa Hai Mohabbat Ka Naam
Maa Ko Hazaro Salaam

Lyrics: Kaifi Azmi
Music: Madan Mohan
Singer: Mohammed Rafi

My fellow Muslims, my only wish on this “Mother’s Day, is to appeal to those who hail from the Indian subcontinent to never forget nor abandon listening to the celestial songs by larger than life Muslims who are no longer with us. On this blessed day celebrating mothers, I would prefer to end this letter with a quote of Henry Ward Beecher, “The mother’s heart is the child’s classroom. For all that I have learned in my life, it is because of my beloved parents’ dedication to teach their children to respect all mankind, no matter which faith they belong to.

Capture4

             Left to Right: Muhammad Ali, Mohammed Rafiq Lodhia, Mohammed Rafi

All in all, my earnest advice to Muslim youths is to forever engrave in their hearts, one of the Qur’anic verses, which guides Muslims to be kind to their parents and to treat them with tenderness and kindness.

“Your Lord has commanded that you should worship none other but
Him, and show kindness to your parents. If either or both of them
attain old age with you, say no word of contempt to them and do not
rebuke them, but always speak gently to them, and treat them with
humility and tenderness and say, ‘Lord, be merciful to them both, as
they raised me up when I was little’.”

Surah: Al-Isra’ (The Night Journey) – Chapter: 17 – Verses: 23-24

May Almighty Allah bless you, your beloved parents and the rest of your family members.

Musically yours,

Mohammed Rafiq Lodhia

   A Pen1  

http://www.wethemoderatemuslims.comhttp://www.readingisliving.com

Capture8

Capture7

I

    

     Abdul Habeeb Yusuf Marfani – The Noble Servant Of India

                              (May Almighty Allah rest his soul in peace)

Marfani1

                Sugata Bose – Sixty Years Ago

One such millionaire turned Fakir was Abdul Habeeb Saheb who gave away his entire fortune amounting to one crore and three lakhs of rupees to the Azad Hind movement. At a public meeting in Rangoon in 1944 Habeeb Saheb walked up to the platform and emptied a basketful of diamonds and jewellery into a silver tray, placed a bundle of title deeds in one corner, and then lifted the tray and handed it over to Netaji with a smile. When His Excellency Netaji pinned the medal Sewak-e-Hind on his breast, he said, “I felt so proud and happy.” We are delighted to welcome Yacoob Habeeb, the grandson of that noble servant of India, who has come from Burma to be in our midst today.

                          Krishna Bose – Days Of Struggle

Yacoob Habeeb Saheb’s presence here reminds us of the great sacrifices that the people made for the freedom of this country. They gave their all so that today we can live in an independence India. Sometimes we forget this. And when Yacoob Habeeb Saheb’s brother came to us sometime back and related the story about his grandfather Abdul Habeeb Sahib which we knew already, we again felt that gratitude. We would not be in a free subcontinent today if all of them had not done what they did.

                   Grandsons of Abdul Habeeb Yusuf Marfani

grandsons 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Left to Right: Mohammed Iqbal Lodhia, Oomar Habeeb Marfani, Razzaq A. Lodhia,
Mohammed Yousuf Lodhia, Yacoob Habeeb Marfani & Mohammed Rafiq Lodhia
Comments are closed.
